Tags

, , , ,

What’s inside?

Small curly leaves… Smell like persimmon….

Tastes like persimmon…

This Korean black tea is pretty light and possesses a good warming qi. I managed to squeeze out about five infusions from the leaves but the second cup was really the best. It also shares some qualities similar to the Taiwan hongcha I’ve been gulping down this winter, perhaps qualities in common with all hongcha. I wouldn’t know since I haven’t tried so many yet.

My taste buds are kind of dead since I’m still recovering from a cold so I really can’t say much else.

Edit – Sunday, January 8, 2012

I’m brewing this Dan-cha again but grandpa style. Now that I’m fully recovered, I have to say the dry leaves don’t smell like persimmon exactly but something unique and captivating I have never smelled before. But coincidentally, it invokes the same sort of comfort that rice porridge with dates and wolfberries provides. The brew itself reminds me of that time I visited a Russian friend who served me tea with strawberry jam and lots of sugar. It must be a sort of profile unique to Korean black teas – wild forest berries?

The tea tastes smooth and soft in my mouth. I reach the bottom of the cup and start to grasp a hint of bitterness.

You know, the more teas I drink the more bewildered my senses become so that I can’t really describe anything quite to my satisfaction. Oh well, tea isn’t meant to be written about, it’s meant to be drank. And drink I shall!

